Slalom

This year has seen a few of our paddlers competing in slalom competitions for the first time with some promotions and lots of medals and trophies – well done to all of you.

In order to prepare you now for the 2018 season Yorkshire Slalom have put together a series of training days and camps over the winter mostly around our region for anyone interested in competing slalom next year.

All training is run by volunteers who give up their time to train you – we always need extra help on the day by parents etc. so if you children are coming along and you can also spare a few hours to lend a hand please let us know.

Boats and kit are normally available to borrow but it is essential you book in advance if you need anything, also so you can be informed if the venue needs to be changed at the last minute.

Winter dates are below;

Sat & Sun 18th & 19th Nov – Lee Valley (book online)
Sat 25th Nov – Slalom ACM
Sun 26th Nov – HPP
Sun 3rd Dec – Dry Training Day (Glasshoughton)
Sun 10th Dec – Washburn
Sat 16th Dec – Oughtibridge
Wed 27th Dec – Wagon Lane
Sun 7th Jan – Sowerby Bridge
Sun 21st Jan – HPP
Sun 4th Feb – Matlock
Sun 18th Feb – Sowerby Bridge
Sun 4th Mar – HPP (provisional)
Mon 2 – Fri 6 Apr – Grandtully training (tbc when race calendar is confirmed)
Please speak to your club coach about whether a session/training venue is suitable for you

Day sessions will be 10:30am meet for an 11am start unless otherwise stated.

The link below is to the events calendar – not all above are on the calendar.

http://www.yorkshireslalom.co.uk/events/

Important: If you want coaching or can help with coaching or safety at these dates please email slalomtraining@yorcie.org.uk with your name, division and contact details to let us know. (Water levels mean we need to change venues or cancel sessions, so we need to know who is coming to let them know).

You can email direct to the link above or can email me;

andy@westyorkshirecanoeclub.com

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you are interested in getting into slalom or have any questions.